What I learnt this month: May 2017 | Courage

Be courageous, it can make a world of difference. This is one of the biggest lessons that I learnt this month and it is something that is worth sharing to encourage, uplift and motivate you to get up, get out there and go for it, whatever the ‘it’ is in your life.

What made this past month really satisfying personally was the fact that I faced one of my fears of being in front of the camera and started my YouTube channel. The statement, “Courage is not the absence of fear but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear”, has been ingrained in my mind since I watched Princess Diaries as a young girl. But, its meaning became as real as it possibly could this last month when the benefit of starting a channel was more important than my fear of it.

I knew that to get my message across to a larger audience and more effectively, I would need the medium of video and this understanding was much much much more important than my fear and so, here I am, living and writing about courage.

I think, unfortunately, many of us are protected and contained in our own bubble of life and are unaware or ignorant of the outside world and its effects on our lives and the lives of others in society. Looking at the state of our outside world right now, I believe, it is high time that we get outside of our lives, our family, our circle and start looking at what we are doing or not doing and how it affects the outside world. It is time to gather up our courage and finally do something.

It is all well and good to be courageous for oneself but being courageous for our fellow humans and our society is more noble and relevant in our current context and whether small or big, this is something that we really need to be thinking about.

There are so many things today that are more important than our fear – the rights of a human to life, the rights of a person to live without unnecessary harassment, the rights of the media to report the truth , the rights of a woman to travel alone without fear, the rights of a child to be protected and not exploited. If these events, issues and situations do not generate even a sense of anger within us, we are anything but courageous. We are cowards.

Being courageous can mean talking about these atrocities on social media. Being courageous can mean educating a child to protect himself. Being courageous can mean changing the discussion in your living room. Being courageous can mean generating dialogue and discussion to find a solution. Being courageous can mean doing anything and everything to counter the negative forces that are swirling all around us.

I do not know what being courageous means to you today. But, I hope that you remind yourself of this one sentence over and over again until something Β clicks and you finally get it.

“Courage is not the absence of fear but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.”

 

P.S.I think I have more to share on this topic and will be doing a video on it soon. So, subscribe here if you want watch it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

