Travelling on the road less travelled

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I— 

I took the one less travelled by, 

And that has made all the difference.”

I could not have said it any better than Robert Frost. He has described my life in such beautiful and apt words. The schools I attended, the college I was accepted into, the places I’ve lived in, the people I have met, the friends I have made, the opportunities I have gotten, the choices that I have made and the problems I have faced, are all on the road less travelled.

The road less travelled has been my companion regardless of what others have said, what society expected of me or even what I might have thought my life would turn out to be. The road less travelled has challenged me, moulded me, and changed me into the person I am today and I am sure that it will continue to do so till the day I die.

It has, however, not been an easy road, for obvious reasons. Obstacles have been a daily part of the journey but the worst of all has been the explaining I have had to do for the choices I have made. There have been people who have been supportive and there have been many others who have not. Some have silently been disappointed in me. Others have voiced their displeasure more openly. And I have had to explain. Again and again.

Over the years, however, I have developed a thick skin, a way to squelch the constant desire to justify my actions, and I have found an inner peace that is now my constant companion on the road. I have learnt not to use other’s reactions as my compass. I have learnt to trust myself, my values, my beliefs and my conscience. I have learnt and I am still learning that who I want myself to be is a much more trustworthy indicator than who others want me to be.

The road less travelled is fraught with thorny brambles, overgrown bushes and lesser visibility than any other road I’ve ever been on. It is strange and slightly scary most of the time. I cannot even see a few months ahead. But, I still keep moving, past all the darkness, hoping to find the light, past all the noise of the onlookers who with good intentions are still unfortunately trying to pull me down to a place of doubt.

In the beginning of my journey I felt alone, left out and frankly weird for being the only traveller on that path but over time I have come to savour, even enjoy the lonely moments, and make the most of them. I now cherish the fact that I am the only person on that path and it makes me walk fast, run often and work more harder to blaze the trail.

The road less travelled has given me great moments, happy memories, and so many life lessons than I could possibly have asked for. It has been a friend, a mentor, a therapist, a teacher and everything in between and I am thankful that I chose to stay on the road that looked a little or maybe even a lot different from the others because it has meant a lifetime of unique experiences.

Today, as I look back at my life, I realize that I love being on the road less travelled and  I would not exchange it for any other and I hope that if you are on this road that looks way different from the road that others are on, stick it out, it is worth it!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

